The Ring O’Bells is one of England’s largest pubs dating back to 1810 where it was rebuilt on the site of a former pub that stood before it with the same name. The pub has passed many a hand in its history from Argyle Brewery (later Birkenhead Brewery) to Whitbread, a name change to Loch Fyne in the 1990’s and then back to the Ring O’Bells in the hands of Greene King in 2012 before it came to rest in ours in December 2019 where we intend to keep it for many years to come.
The building itself is Tudor in style with its black and white exterior as well as its quirky character of being set on various levels due to the nature of it resting upon a hill. Surrounded by large gardens and land, the pub remains a secluded village gem.
There are various rumours that poets Shelley and Keats had frequented the pub on numerous occasions as well as J.L Haton composing the famous song ‘Simon the Callarer’ about the place.